The Art Of Writing

This is the first time in a long time I compose anything by computer. From September 6, 2016 I have been composing handwritten entries in my diary. However, as of today, I’m feeling unmotivated to write anything by hand in my diary. At the moment, it’s drudgery. So, I thought I’d change things up a bit, and go back to composing on my computer.

Writing is an art form which does require daily practice, as I’ve read in many blogs, online publications, and in published works of literature. However, I believe the spark which Mr. Jeff Goins often speaks of in particular throughout his published work “The Art Of Work’ is essential to fostering good writing. Granted, the first draft isn’t supposed to be perfect. It must be molded in to shape, and the writing must be nurtured with care as the editing process takes place.

It’s been a long while since I’ve done any editing on my short story collection, “Symphony Of The Heart”. I’ve not finished with the editing process, because after editing a certain number of stories in the collection, I took some time off to focus on other projects, and to take a break from it for a while. However, the break ended up being longer than what I originally anticipated. I know I need to get back into my routine and habit of editing the remainder of the short story collection, so I can then get it formatted, structured,, and published.

As for my novel “Fiona”, I’m currently putting money aside so I can have professionals take a final look at it from structure and formatting. I intend to publish it using Create Space. However, when I attempted to upload my manuscript, I did so; however, I clicked on the button which checks for any errors. There are a only a couple things which need to be corrected on it. I’m not sure how to go about doing so myself. Rather than attempting to do so myself and making additional error, and getting frustrated with the entire process and project, I’m going to leave it up to the professionals at Create Space to correct to two minor things which need to be corrected. Other than the two minor problems which need to be corrected, the overall editing, formatting and structuring are perfect. One of the elements which need to be corrected is with the font size. However, as I said, I’m going to leave it up to the professionals at Create Space to do so.

I believe after doing final edits, structuring and formatting myself, it’s vital to have an editor look everything over to make sure everything is perfect the way it should be. Although, a written work is never perfect. What I’m talking when I say perfect is having correct spelling, grammar, punctuation and syntax throughout the piece. My editing is perfect for my novel “Fiona”. The only two errors in the piece are with the font sizing and some other minor thing. I don’t recall exactly what it was.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2016

Leave a Reply

