As The Page Turned

I creased the page, letting my mind wander into the realm of dreams. I walked down the golden hall, thinking about the pages of text I just finished reading. The lore of the tides danced in smoky mirrors. I gazed into them, watching the smoke spread out. I saw an image of a stranger approaching a building. He opened the door, and walked in. I was absorbed into the scene, and followed him into the building. Looking around the lobby area, I noticed a receptionist standing behind a counter. She motioned for me to come to her. As I approached the counter, my knees gave out from under me. For she was me. “What goes on here?”. I asked while taking a step back.

“I am your fete. I’ve been expecting you,” she smiled with her hands outstretched to receive me.

The pages of text came alive before my eyes. Unicorns emerged from the cracks in the floor. I walked up to the pink one with purple hair, and climbed on. It carried me away as I ascended into the clouds.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou,2016

Leave a Reply

