The Journey A Writer Takes When Composing

There’s more to writing than simply writing.  Once the writing process is done, the hard work begins.  It’s the editing process.  I like to do three rounds per story or chapter.  Then, I do a final round of editing for each so as to be thorough.  There’s the proofing, and every now and then sentences, words or phrases either need to be omitted or added to make the given piece of writing flow properly and smoothly.

It’s a tedious process writers must endure if their work is to have any chance getting accepted by a good publisher for publication.  Then comes the synopsis.  The synopsis should be comprehensive as should the cover letter.  It’s vital a writer follow the guidelines stipulated by the publisher thoroughly.  Following directions is a must.  One mistake and it will cost the writer his or her chance to be published by the publisher for the given piece of writing submitted for the publisher’s consideration.

Lately, I’ve been doing a three round edit each day for individual stories within my short story compilation.  I then do a final round edit for each story.  It’s been quite a journey so far.  I haven’t even reached beneath the surface of the editing process yet.  I have a final edit to do for story number six.  Once it is completely edited, I’ll have forty-three more stories to thoroughly edit.

As I sit here at my computer writing all the criteria down for editing, my mind has become slightly exhausted.  It takes work to both write and edit, because the mind goes through a rigorous workout at times.  It’s important for the mind to receive exercise through proper use of ones thought process.  It isn’t always easy to come up with something to write.  Sometimes, all a writer can to is to sit at his computer or with his notebook and pen before him and write. He must write all he can.  He must do what Lisi Cartwright calls a “brain-dump”.  I find her process to be highly effective when composing a given piece of writing.

Generally, I don’t know ahead of time what my given piece of writing will be about.  I often don’t think about what I write.  I just write, while praying I make sense.  However, as mentioned many times in my writings as well as in the articles of other writers I’ve read, the first draft doesn’t have to make any sense.  What’s important is something has been written.  I try not to think about making any mistakes during my process.  If I were to keep them in mind while composing my first draft for a given piece of writing, nothing would ever get written.  My thought process would be hindered as would my writing process.

An equilibrium is just as vital as anything else involved in the writing craft.  During the times when I’m feeling blocked, I take breaks.  I like to read from some good books or periodicals or online blogs and articles written by other writers.  I make the conscious effort to learn something from other writers and from their given compositions.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2016

 

Leave a Reply

