Day To Day Struggles Of A Writer

Lately, I’ve been too exhausted to do much of anything.  I worked out at the gym a couple of days ago, and I’ve been reading on and off.  However, I haven’t felt alert enough to do any writing.  Then, again, I also haven’t been motivated enough to do any writing.

I’ve been feeling much too restless to get any writing done.  Therefore, I took sometime off from writing so as to prevent it from becoming Drudge work.  

My mind has become empty again.  I need to replenish my supply of ideas.  I’ve been trying to do so for the past several days.  Today I finally decided the only way to put anything to print was to sit down and actually do it.  

Although I don’t feel like lugging out my computer, I decided it still no excuse not to be doing any writing for today.  So, I’m using Google Docs on my Smart Phone to compose my composition

It’s uncomfortably warm here in my bedroom as I sit on my bed composing this composition.  However, I don’t want to stop what I’m doing just to turn on the ceiling fan.  Doing so would break my momentum.  I live with the uncomfortable feeling of warmth, because I know it will pass.

If I stay focused on what I’m doing, my body temperature will eventually cool down.  What I’m doing is disciplining myself enough to stay the course with what I’m doing so as not to allow room for any distractions.

As I write this entry, I can hear my aunt and grandmother conversing in the next room.  Hopefully,my grandmother will quiet down enough to get back to sleep.  It would be nice to have some peace and quiet which will enable me to have an even deeper concentration for writing.

Pain started up in my left knee.  It resulted from the dampness here in Kalamazoo.  We are expecting rain some time today.  

My body temperature is much cooler in comparison to how it was moments ago.  I knew it would be, because of previous experience with changes in body temperature.

Although I’m tempted to quit writing for the day, I’m not going to allow myself to succomb to it.  I intend to stay dedicated to my writing craft.  My word count goal for today is to write at least 500 words.  

I realize this composition isn’t of the best quality; however, I’m not going to worry about it.  As long as I’m able to put thought to print, nothing else matters.

I just did some neck rolls so as to prevent any future stiffness and discomfort resulting from working off of my Smart Phone.  I’m beginning to get tired again.  However, I’m hanging onto my wit so I can maintain concentration enough to complete this composition.

Just a few more words to go, and I’ll hit the 500 word count goal.  Stretching helps somewhat in keeping my focus through putting circulation into my system.  Doing so makes me feel more alert.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2016

Leave a Reply

