Y2: Day 43 (Take A Mulligan) If Ever There Were A Day I’d Would Have Liked To Do Over

If there was ever a day I’d like to do over I’d say there are multiple days I would have liked to do over.  However, to start with, I choose earlier today.  Nothing was going right with my computer.  It was taking forever to start up.  I turned it on, and all it said was start up repair needed.  I had to go through all hassle just to resolve the problem and get it going so I could log onto the internet and begin my exercise for the writing challenge.

There was an incident long, long, ago when I was a little kid. I just woke up in the morning from having a nightmare.  I had a hard time sleeping the night before.  I dream I was in this scary place when some monster with a metal mask was chasing me with a blow torch.

I woke up to the sounds of my mother yelling to me to wake up.  Gazing up at her, I responded, “What goes on here I can’t even get a decent night’s sleep?”

“You’ve had plenty of sleep.  Now get up and get dressed so you can get the house cleaned before you go to school.”  She pulled my covers off of me and swung my legs over my bed so I could wake up and start getting dressed.

Stumbling out of bed, I made my way into the bathroom.  I looked in the mirror when I noticed my eye was irritated and puffy.  I think it was a bad case of pink eye.  “Mom, get me the Visine.  My eye is all red and swollen.”

All she brought me were natural tear eye drops.  She handed them to me.

Upon examining them, I threw them to the floor.  “This crap will never do for getting the redness and swelling out of my eye quickly.  Today is picture day.  I want to look perfect for my school pictures.  I’m a freshman in high school, and this is how everyone will remember me when looking in their high school yearbooks?  I don’t want to get my pictures taking with this ugly redness and swelling in my eye.  How is this crap eye drops going to get the redness out in time for my school pictures.  Don’t you have sense enough to keep Visine eye drops around the house for such occasions?”

“Visine is no good for something like this.  Now put those eye drops in your eyes, brush your teeth and hurry up.  You need to stop wasting time so we can get the house cleaned before you go to school.”  She walked away out of the bathroom, slamming the door behind her.

All I could do was continuously stare at the ugliness of my eye which was before me, and cry.  “Why me.  What did I do I would deserve such punishment.  I was hoping to have a nice picture for once for school.  Now, it will look ugly.  Of all the worst things which could happen to me, it would have to be today for this problem to start up.”

My glasses were tinted enough where they’d hide the problem from everyone in school; however, they’d also hide my face when it came to getting my pictures taken.  They would defeat the purpose of my getting my pictures taken.

“You’re going to get your pictures taken today in spite of the redness and swelling in your eye.  Remember, you can always get retakes.”  My mother wiped down the kitchen table after I had my breakfast.  She gathered my book bag and my jacket, handing them to me, as my brothers and I headed out the door to catch the bus.

“What good would it do to get retakes.  The redness and swelling will be gone, but I’ll never be able to get my makeup and hair to come out perfect like this ever again.”  I sulked while walking out the side door of the house and entering the garage with my head hung low.

Opening the door of the garage, I headed outside and gathered around the group of kids waiting for the bus to come.

Upon getting on the bus, I shoved my way through the aisle, taking a seat near the back where I sat by myself, staring out the window.

I glared out the window at nature’s surroundings, observing the trees and the greenery of the grass in the yards of the homes the bus passed by.

One idiot sitting behind me blurts out to someone sitting next to him, “It’s a beautiful world out there.  She sees it everyday.”

Turning around, I glared at him.  “What’s it too you.  I’m minding my own business.  I suggest you do the same before I knock you out, you piece of garbage.”

He kept on taunting me, so I turned around, swung my right fist which banged into his eye.  I turned his eye black and blue.  His eye was bruised and swollen.  I felt a little better, because at least the redness in my eye wasn’t as noticeable with my tinted glasses on.  However, his black eye could be seen from a mile or more away.

Upon arrival to school, the idiot got off the bus holding his eye, screaming, “I’m telling the principal what you did to my eye.”

“You go ahead and do so.  I don’t care.  You’re the one who will look like a sissy and a tattle tell.  You’re not only a junior in high school, but you’re a guy.  I’m only a fifteen year old freshman in high school, and I’m a girl.  How do you think you’ll look and sound when the entire school were to find out you got yourself beat up by a girl.  If you think your so tough, try hassling me again.  You’ll find out what happens to you.  Two years ago, one of your close buddies tried setting my hair on fire on the bus ride home from school.  I suppose you forgot about the black eye I gave him.  He singed my hair, but if I hadn’t reacted in time, he would have caused worse damage than that.  So I suggest this be a lesson to you and the rest of the clowns in you click of friends.  You all are nothing but a bunch of jerks who need to be taught lesson, and I’m the one to do so.  However, even then, you never learn from your own mistakes nor each others.  So the more you hassle me, the great the amount of black eyes you jerks will get.  Now, good day to you, and get out of my sight.  I have more pressing matters to contend with.  Bye.”  I waved snidely and went on my way to my locker as I headed into the school.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2016

Leave a Reply

