Y2: Day 15 (Evaluate) How Do I Feel After Being Halfway Done?

Being halfway done, how do I feel?  Am I tired, worn out?  Or more energized than ever?I would have to say I feel great about what I’ve been able to achieve.  I’m a combination of tired and energized, but mostly, I’ve been looking forward to writing each day.  I enjoy starting off my day writing.  I have to push myself until I have at least 1,000+ words.  So far, I’ve been able to achieve it as such without any problems.

My thoughts come to me but not as quickly as I’d like them too.  Therefore, I have to take a moment or two to consider what more I’d like to say.  However, I manage to achieve my writing goals each day.  I do keep in my about what Mr. Jeff Goins has said about not letting any given task become drudgery.  Although I force myself at times to sit at my computer and keep typing away until I have at least 1,000+ words I never once considered writing to be a form of drudgery.

As I stated in a previous article, writing is challenging enough to keep my interest, but the level of difficulty is not overwhelming where it would be impossible for me to achieve the goals I strive for.  I find writing is a great form of exercise for my mind and brain.  Consequently, I’ve had to write through distractions most of the time with my grandmother muttering or crying in the background from being in pain or simply just muttering in her sleep.

I prefer to work in my living room, facing the front window.  I can see the beautiful scenery of nature.  We have a tall maple tree facing my house.  I can see the neighbor’s house across the street, along with the bushes and the snow covering the grass.  Cars go by.  I love the gentle soothing sounds they make when they pass by my house.

This writing challenge has brought greater focus to me.  I’m writing more than I have been in a long, long, time.  I’m currently writing at least 2,000+ words daily.  I’m learning more and more about myself with each passing day.  Upon going back and reading what I’ve composed, there are times when I think to myself, I wrote this?  Thinking back to a year ago, I was pushing myself to write 500 words a day.  I’ve surpassed such word limit.

I feel I’m growing more in my writing craft with each passing day.  The effluence filling my mind in the past no longer blocks me.  I’m able to write with ease.  Although I have to force myself to sit at the computer and keep typing away until I’ve reached the word count I’ve set for myself, it not so much of a struggle as it has been in the past.

There were times when it would take me at least a week to write an article.  Now, I can do so in a matter of thirty to forty-five minutes, depending on the length I set out to achieve.  I don’t worry so much about a piece of writing being good or awful.  I just write.  I find if I take a few deep breaths, focusing on nothing in particular, I let my mind go blank.  In other words I don’t allow any worries to enter my mind.  I let it become clear, focusing on nothing but my computer screen.  Doing so enables the words and thoughts to flow more freely.  In some way, I feel as if I’m in the state of “flow” Mr. Jeff Goins often talks about.

I never really realized what it meant until now.  I feel good about what I’ve been able to accomplish thus far.  Through participating in the my500words writing challenge, I’m come to have greater confidence in myself as well as in my own writing skills and abilities.  I’ve learned to overcome fear.  It’s not always easy when taking the first step to try something I’ve never done before.  However, now I feel my obstacles encountered when writing have nothing to do with outside forces no matter what kinds of distractions are around me.  Most everything in life occurs internally.  It’s therefore important to have the correct mind set which means having a positive outlook.

It’s not always easy staying positive.  Life isn’t perfect, because we all get curveballs thrown in our direction.  Many times curveballs block our way when it comes to achieve.  So, it’s therefore important to jump hurdles.  Or do what Mr. Jeff Goins calls “pivoting”.  If an obstacle is so impossible to achieve, instead of getting frustrated, I pivot and move on.  I try another way to achieve the goals to set for myself.

Nothing is impossible, it just a matter of focusing on another direction to achieving the goals one wants to achieve in life.  I often ask myself what I want out of life.  When I become frustrated and discouraged when getting a rejection from a publisher, I often want to give up on my writing craft and take a job.  I usually don’t care how much or how little it would pay, so long as it would enable me to accumulate money quickly and effectively in comparison to the writing craft.  However, something in my heart always tugs me back to the writing craft.

There are times when writing I don’t feel what I’m writing is good enough.  However, I persevere by continuing to write and write and write until my mind is thoroughly exhausted.  I find through daily practice, I become a better writer than what I was the day before.  I’m growing not only with my writing craft, but as a person.  Inner growth is just as important as it is to have development with one’s craft or profession.  I’ve learned how to deal with internal struggles more efficiently in addition to learning how to overcome obstacles I face with my writing craft.  The writing challenge has taught me I can achieve anything I strive for if I have the drive and determination to do so.

If there is something I’m struggling with I simply read up on the subject to acquire knowledge and solutions for resolving the obstacles I face at the given moment or time.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2016

Leave a Reply

