Y2: Day 3 (Get Up Early) What Time Of Day Am I Writing?

What time of day am I doing my writing?  I’d have to say sometimes in the afternoons, but mostly in the evenings.  However, today I start my day in the afternoon.  As for my routine, I get up in the morning at around 8 a. m. to have my breakfast and go back to sleep.  Sometimes I don’t start my day until the early part of evening.  It’s been hard to get up in the mornings, because my ninety-four year old grandmother’s crying throughout the night from physical discomfort makes it impossible for the rest of us in my household to get any sleep.

There are times when I’m up past midnight.  During those early hours of morning I usually write.  I figure since I can’t sleep, I may as well make good use of the time.  I managed to compose chapter 30 for my novel “Blaine” through handwriting the chapter in my notebook early, early, this morning.  The word count was a little over one thousand words.  All I have to do now is type it up onto my computer.

Lately, I’ve discovered I can concentrate more with the television running in the background.  These past few days, I’ve been listening to the international news on PBS.  Not only is it soothing to my senses when writing, but the news stories are far more interesting than what they are here in the United States locally or nationally.  I guess it’s because I needed to change things up a bit through getting another perspective.

Throughout the course of the day, I usually have to tend to my elderly grandmother, helping with transferring her from her bed to the wheelchair, or from her wheelchair to the car and vice versa.  My aunt takes my grandmother out for some fresh air during the late afternoon/early part of evening.  I usually have to accompany them, because my assistance is needed.  Therefore, I’ve been mostly writing during the evenings.

Today is the first time in a long while I’ve been able to write during the noon hours, although it was going on three o’clock when I got up.  I hadn’t even had my lunch yet.  I intend to eat something just as soon as I complete this article.

There are times when I’m stressed and restless during the day.  So, I often take time to read either from my printed copies of books or from my Kindle to relax.  I also take the time to listen to some good music stored on my Smart Phone.  Regardless if the music is sad or uplifting, it puts me in the mood to write.

If I were able to have uninterrupted sleep throughout the night it would make it easier for me to get up in the morning and stay up after having my breakfast.  At the moment, my stomach is growling, because I hadn’t eaten anything since breakfast.  I makes it difficult to concentrate on my writing.  However, little by little I’m beginning to build some momentum.  I don’t want it interrupted through my going into the kitchen to make myself some lunch.

I can hear noise of my uncle making something for himself to eat in the kitchen.  Many times noise from opening and closing either the refrigerator or the cupboards is an annoyance, especially when he is mixing something with either a spoon or a fork such as he is doing right now.  Otherwise, it’s quiet in the house right now.

My grandmother and aunt are still sound asleep as I force myself to maintain focus on my writing.

Although I check the word count on my computer ever so many sentences, I don’t get deterred from the composing of my writing composition.  I’m currently past the 500 word mark.  However, I intend to write until I get at least 1,000 words or a little more.

My stomach is starting to hurt a little now.  I know it isn’t healthy for me to make myself wait until I finish with my composing before I go into the kitchen to make myself some lunch.  However, if I stop now, I don’t know I’ll be motivated enough to continue with my writing.

I glance outside my living room window, observing the cars going by gradually, one after the other.  The sounds of the cars driving past my house is soothing to my senses.  As I stare at the bare limbs of the trees, I think about how strong and proud they look in all their nakedness.  Their strength emerges all the more so in the harshness of the cold outside.  I’m reminded of how strong we as human beings become stronger during our times of suffering; thus, we often end up strengthening our endurance and stamina.

It is often done through a form of discipline through sticking with our daily habits of dedication to whatever task we’d like to accomplish.  For me, it is the daily focus of writing one thousand words or a little more in one setting.  I know I’m capable of doing so, because I have conditioned myself for the past couple of months to push myself to the very limits.  When writing, I write and write and write until I achieve a little over one thousand words.

Conditioning oneself is also important when it comes to being able to make it a habit of starting one’s day early in the morning.  The earliest I’ve been able to start my day for my writing has been no earlier than around eight o’clock in the morning shortly after having my breakfast protein shake.  I’d like to be able to get back into the routine of staying awake after having my breakfast shake.  I realize I shouldn’t be using my elderly grandmother’s crying throughout the night as an excuse for me not to discipline myself enough to get up earlier in the morning.  However, getting a good night’s sleep is an essential part for starting one’s day right.

Even now, the sounds of her cries fill my ears.  I don’t know what she is currently crying about.  She often cries upon waking up from her sleep.  Sometimes I think she has revert back to childhood when she conducts herself in such a manner.  Maybe it’s true when it is said we as human beings are babies twice in our lifetime.  We are as such when we are born, and then so again when we become elderly.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2016

Leave a Reply

