(Achilles Heel) Descending The Bus

It started off like any other.  My alarm clock rang, but I pushed down the sleep button.  My mother entered my bedroom before the alarm went off again.  “Kiki, you need to get out of bed and get ready to go to school,” she said sternly, as she walked over to my closet to select my clothes for the day.

“I can make my own selections.  I’m 18 years old.  For God sakes.  Stop treating like I’m five years old,” I shrieked while stumbling out of bed, and walking over to my closet to make my own selections.

She pulled out my pink leggings which were hanging on a hanger, and said, “You haven’t worn these in a long, long while.  What are you going to do with them?”  she yelled while removing the article of clothing from the hanger.

“Leave those alone.  I’m more than capable of deciding for myself what I’m going to wear to school or to any place.  I don’t need you to instruct me on what to wear or on how I should dress,” I shouted while grabbing the leggings and the hanger from her.  I hung them back on the hanger, and returned the hanger to the rack in the closet.  “I’m going to wear these blue Capri pants instead.  Now get out of here so I can change out of my pajamas and into my school clothes, before I slap your face.”

She attempted to grab a hold of my hair, but my brother Stanley came into my bedroom and stopped her before she had the chance to do so.  “What are you doing here in my sister’s bedroom?”

“Stanley, this is none of your business.  When I give Kiki orders, you are to stay out of it,” she replied smugly while attempting to grab a hold of his arm.

Stanley grabbed her by the shoulders, and shoved her out of my bedroom, shouting, “My sister is an adult.  She’s more than capable of selecting her own clothes.  When are you going to let her grow up and make her own decisions.  She’s older than John and me; yet, you insist on treating her like she’s five years old.  I suggest you stop being controlling, and let her lead her own life.  You and that father of ours have a bad habit of trying to control everything my sister wears and every little thing she does.  Honestly, you two are the worst parents on the face of this earth.”

My mother attempted to come back in, but Stanley shoved her out of the way.  “Will you back off, and let her get dressed for school?  Gees, your crazy, if you think you’re going to control my sister.  Let her make her own decisions.  I’m all dressed and ready for school.  I’m going to stand guard outside of my sister’s bedroom, so you won’t go inside and get after her.”

My brother John made sure she couldn’t pester me on my way to the bathroom.  Stanley stood guard outside of the bathroom door, while I brushed my teeth, did my hair, and applied my make up.

When I exited the bathroom, both of my brothers were waiting for me, and presented me with my jacket, my duffle bag, and a banana.

We headed out together to wait for the bus.

Upon our arrival to school, my brothers were amongst the first five students to depart from the bus, because they sat closer to the front.  I was further in the back.

I was descending the steps of the bus, when I lost my balance.  My right ankle gave out, causing me to skit down the rest of the way.  I landed on top of my Achilles Heel, letting out a scream.

There was only one other student and the bus driver, other than myself, because the other students had already departed from the bus.  The young lady and the bus driver helped me up asking if I was alright.

“My ankle hurts,” I cried, with my face consumed by my tears.

One of my shoes went under the bus, while the other one was next to my left knee.  The young lady crawled part of the way under the bus, and retrieved my shoe, while the bus driver assisted me in putting on my other shoe.

“Thank you both so much for helping me.  I appreciate it very much,” I said, deeply moved by their kind gesture.

“That’s what friends are there for.  We are all here to help each other and to look out for each other,” the young lady said.

“That’s right, young lady.  And I’m glad we could be here to help you,” the bus driver said while she and the young lady helped me walk up to the entrance of the door, enter the school, and take me into the office.

The nurse looked over my ankle, and assured me, “Kiki, your ankle is going to be alright.  It’s just mildly bruised, but not to bad.  It doesn’t appear to be broken, because you can move it without any trouble at all.  I applied some pain relieving ointment to it.  Just continue to apply some when you get home.  You’ll be okay,” she said as she handed me the tube of ointment.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

