Day 212: (Choices) Do I Eat A Piece Of Apple Pie, Or Do I Eat Cooked Fresh Vegetables Topped With Ground Turkey Gravy?

Do I eat a piece of apple pie, or do I eat cooked fresh vegetables topped with ground turkey gravy?  On the one hand, the apple pie has fresh apples and is very sweet.  On the other, the cooked fresh vegetables topped with ground turkey gravy, is savory, combines with the sweetness of the carrots and peas in their own right.  Both make my mouth water.

If I had a choice, I’d eat the cooked fresh vegetables topped with ground turkey gravy.  It’s more of a meal, and filling.  The apple pie would satisfy my taste buds, but would not satisfy my hunger.

What’s even more tempting is a double cheeseburger.  On the one hand, there is protein, but on the other hand, there are lots of calories, cholesterol, and fat to consider.

It’s important to be health conscious.  Therefore, I eat lean ground turkey meat mixed in a gravy sauce containing no fat.

First, I brown the ground turkey meat through mixing it with seasonings and spices, along with some mustard and ketchup.  Then, I rinse it in extra hot water in the sink, using a colander; put the meat back in the pan and put it on the burner.  I add some more ketchup, mustard, seasonings and spices.  Next, I add 8 ounces of hot water; add some more ketchup and mustard.  I mixed everything together.  Then, I add some fat free Ranch dressing.  I mix it in.  Therefore, I have my gravy containing no fat.

I pour the meat gravy over fresh vegetables, and have a nice filling meal.

The apple pie would serve as a nice dessert; however, there is so much fat in the crust.  I believe baked fresh apples sliced in a pan topped with cinnamon would make an even healthier desert, because I wouldn’t have all the fat from the crust or added sugar.  Instead of topping it with ice cream, I top it with fat free plain yogurt, drizzled with sugar free chocolate syrup.  It’s the next best thing to pie alamode.

There are always options when it comes to craving a special desert of a special food.  I try to use alternatives to create simulation in flavors; yet, make healthier food choices.

In a previous article I wrote, I mentioned I love chocolate swirl ice cream.  Instead of having the real thing, I use fat free plain yogurt drizzled with sugar free chocolate syrup, and mix in a chopped banana and other fresh fruit.  Not only do I end up with something resembling chocolate swirl ice cream, but I end up with kind of a banana split or parfait.

For folks who love cherry cordials, but can’t eat them, due to diabetes or some other health issues, all they have to do is take fat free milk, mix in sugar free chocolate syrup and sugar free cherry Kool-Aid, and they can have a simulated taste of cherry cordials.  I know from experience it is the next best thing.  One also doesn’t end up with all the sugar, fat, cholesterol, nor calories.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

