Day 211: (Sleep) What Is The Bliss Of A Deep Sleep To Me?

What is the bliss of a deep sleep to me?  I believe it has to do with being well rested, resulting from having an inner peace and a deep serenity.  When I’m cared away into the realm of dreams, I encounter many interesting people.  Some of them are musicians, some are medical professionals, or they might be educators.  There are times when I’m carried back to my high school days or to my college days through my dreams.

The scope of sleep is the essence of recovering in the serene waters of the spirit.  Only the askance of tomorrow can be brought forth to reexamine life on a broader plane of existence.

However, there are times when a blissful sleep isn’t possible, because of my grandmother keeping me up all hours of the night with her crying.  As I’ve said in some of my previous writings, she cries all night long and many times carrying over into the daytime about aches and pains.  My aunt gives her pain reliever to take for it, but my grandmother isn’t always receptive to taking it.  I believe the biggest problem is she sleeps too much during the day; therefore, she doesn’t sleep at night.

I’ve talked to my aunt on many occasions about getting my grandmother up in the morning so she’d sleep throughout the night.  In doing so, she’d be on a better sleep schedule.  However, my aunt always says, “I’m tired in the morning.  I like to sleep.  She can’t get up in the morning if I don’t help with getting her up.  I’m not about to wake her up in the morning, because I’m tired at that time, and I prefer to sleep.”

Unfortunately, this is an endless battle.  If it were up to me, I’d put my grandmother on a better sleep schedule, so we’d have some peace and quiet throughout the night.

Even as I write this entry, she’s crying and blubbering about something, and it’s a little after 3 p. m.  The sound of her crying is like metal scraping against metal.  She’s complaining about her legs hurting. However, my aunt told me she gives my grandmother pain reliever as directed on the packaging.  She already reached the maximum limit allowed for a given day.

So consequently, we have to put up with her crying and complaints during the day and night.

I would love to be able to sleep throughout the night without having to put up with any of my grandmother’s crying, but it’s not possible.  I often use earplugs to block out the sounds of her crying and complaints.  Sometimes they help, and other times they don’t help at all.

I’d like to be able to get up at 8 a. m. and stay up so I can get things accomplished, but lately I’ve been sleeping until passed 2 p. m., because it’s been so difficult getting any sleep at night.  I know it’s not healthy.  However, I have no choice but to endure the noise at night from my grandmother.  I do wish my aunt was receptive in putting my grandmother on a better sleep schedule; however, I have no control over her decisions.  I only have control over myself.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

