Day 207: (Imagination and Creativity) When I Was A Child I Often Let My Imagination Carry Me Off To Different Places

When I was a child I often let my imagination carry me off to different places.  I often conversed with my imaginary friends when I was alone in my room.  I would pretend I was a school teacher, and my dolls were my students.

My brothers and I would put a blanket over a table, and we’d get under it to use it as a fort or a battle station.

“Mayday, mayday, S. O. S., we’re going down fast.  We need to prepare for an emergency landing,” my brother John said into a spoon to use as an intercom for communicating with the control operator who guided us when landing the air plane.

Once we landed, we got out of the airplane with our stuffed animals, and grabbed our make believe luggage.

My brother Stanley was the regent at the hotel we checked into.  “Welcome to the Penn Motel.  Here are your keys.  I hope you folks will enjoy your stay.”

We then moved on to playing business owners with our play money.  We had raffle tickets our parents gave us.  They obtained them from a party they went to.  My brothers and I used them as make believe credit cards.

I pretended to be the owner of a grocery store.  My brothers would shop there.

My brother Stanley was supposed to be a restaurateur.  John was a waiter and a cashier.

We often pretended to be superheroes.  I remember a time when my brother’s and I played in their bedroom.  Climbing on top of their beds, we pretended they were magical machines taking us to Paradise Island where we’d encounter Wonder Woman and her family.  While we were there, we went through a training program to strengthen our abilities and our powers.  We learned gymnastics, archery, fighting skills, and survival skills.

Getting back in our magical machine, we to Atlantis to meet up with Aquaman, Aqualad, and Mera.  We learned how to breathe under water.  Aquaman passed on some of his powers to us for communicating with the under water creatures.  Like Aquaman, we were able to summon them for help when we needed to.

Next, our journey took us to Gotham City where we fought crime with Batman, Robin and Batgirl.  We were even able to take turns riding with Batman in the Batmobile.

We learned martial arts and acrobats from Batman and Robin, in addition to learning some fighting skills from them.

My brothers captured the Joker, while I captured Penguin, The Joker and The Riddler with the help of Batman, Robin, and Batgirl.

Soon, it was time for us to leave.  We got back into our machine, and headed to work for the O. S. I. with Col. Steve Austin, Oscar Goldman, Jamie Sommers, and Dr. Rudy Wells.  Something went terribly wrong, and I needed bionics.  Dr. Rudy Wells did the operation for putting the bionic parts in me.  I obtain great speed, and strength.

Our travels then took us to Krypton where we met Jor El and his family.  Superman/Kal-El was only a baby.  We helped Jor-El build the spacecraft for Kal-El who was sent on his way to safety.  Jor-El advised us to leave.  We wanted to take him and his wife with us, but he said he preferred to stay behind with his people.  So did his wife.  We got back into the magical machine, and headed back home.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

