Day 199-(Magic Wand) Fixing My Biggest Problem

What is my biggest problem?  Hmm.  I’d have to say getting up in the morning.  I’d like to get up at eight o’clock in the morning to start my day; however, most of the time, I’m just too tired to do so.  I’ve tried going to bed earlier.  Sometimes it helps, but not always.  It’s difficult to get up in the morning, because as I’ve mentioned in previous posts, my grandmother keeps me up on most nights due to aches and pains she has.  She’s not always cooperative with my aunt who often advises her to take pain reliever.  Therefore, I end up sleep until two in the afternoon, such is the case today.

We could have her go to bed at an earlier time; however, there’s the problem of her waking up in the middle of the night anyway, crying in pain, and keeping us up throughout most of the night.  I’d say, her main problem is she sleeps too much during the day, often until the later part of noon.  I often suggested to my aunt about how we should wake my grandmother up in the morning to get her on a better sleep schedule.  However, my aunt often tells me, “I can’t get up in the morning, because I’m tired.  Your grandmother can’t get up out of bed unless I get her out of bed with your help.  That’s why she sleeps until during the later part of noon most of the time.”

“But if we could get her on a better sleep schedule, you wouldn’t be tired in the morning.  She wouldn’t be keep us up at night.  We’d all be able to start our day much earlier,” I advise while standing in the doorway of hers and my grandmother’s bedroom tapping my fingers on the door.

“What are we supposed to do in the morning, twiddle our thumbs?  We can’t just sit there and do nothing,” my aunt complains as she closes her eyes and starts to drift off to sleep once again.

However, I awake her once more by saying, “Couldn’t you both watch a movie or something?  Perhaps you could go for a walk in the neighborhood while pushing her wheelchair.  It would be good for you both to be out in the fresh air, and good exercise for you.  In the meantime, I could concentrate on getting some additional writing accomplished.  Once I do so, then I could join you later to go for a drive,” I suggested.

My aunt generally isn’t receptive.  She often tells me, “I don’t want to go to bed earlier, because my favorite television shows come on late during the night.  I don’t watch television at all during the daytime.  I’d like to see my television programs at night, prior to all of us getting your grandmother ready for bed.  If we put her to bed earlier than we do, she’ll be up all night long, keeping me awake, because she doesn’t want to sleep.  She want to get up out of bed much earlier than she does, and I’d rather sleep,” my aunt complains while she adjusts her pillow and drifts off to sleep once more.

I guess a solution to my problem would be to try going to bed earlier.  If I have to get up in the middle of the night to help my aunt with getting my grandmother ready for bed, at least I’d have some sleep time in where I wouldn’t be so tired when awakening the next day to have breakfast.  I wouldn’t be going back to bed after having my breakfast in the morning.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

