Day 198: (A Night At The Movies) It’s Our Choices That Make Us Who We Are

“It’s not our talents that define us, but it’s our choices that make us who we are.”  It was Dumbledore who said this in the movie, Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets.  These words are so true.  Our talents have to do with our abilities innate in us from the time we are born.  We cultivate them through years of practice to strengthen our abilities.  However, we are indeed defined by the choices we make.

In the story of the above mentioned ability, Harry Potter made a conscious decision to be in the Gryffindor group, because he felt in his heart it was where he belonged.  The same is true when choosing to do either the right thing in life or the wrong thing.  If something feels right, it generally is.  If something feels wrong, it generally isn’t.

When I was 5 ½ years old, President Ford was walking up to the podium to give a speech.  The man stumbled and fell.  My parents sat on the sofa in our living room, laughing and making snide remarks.

“You shouldn’t laugh at him,” I said sternly while glaring at them, “Maybe the man had an injury to his leg when he was younger.  All I know is when you do or say something mean about someone, and make fun of them, the same thing will happen to you.”

“Shut you mouth, before I come over there and slap you face,” my father yelled in a dangerous voice, while continuing to ridicule the president.

“Furthermore, children are to be seen and not heard,” my mother said snidely while she too continued to laugh at the president, and ridicule him.

“But it’s the two of you who behave worse than children.  I may be only 5 ½ years old, but at least I know that in the Bible, it states we are to treat people the way we’d like to be treated.”

From this early age, I made the conscious decision not to follow in my parents example, because I knew the ways in which they behaved was wrong.  Too make fun of someone, and their handicap only showed my parents ignorance, lack of common sense, and lack of maturity.  At the time, I knew in my heart I had to take it upon myself to teach them right from wrong.

When I got older, I made the conscious decision not to get married and have a family of my own, because I worried about doing to the children I’d have what my parents did to my brothers and me.  I knew how many times, children who experience abuse at the hands of their parents generally end up being abusive parents to their own children.  I knew in my heart I didn’t want to hurt a child or anyone at all.  I didn’t want to become my parents.

It wasn’t until I saw the movie, Harry Potter And The Chamber Of Secrets, and heard the above statement come out of Dumbledore’s mouth about how it’s our choices we are defined by, and not our talents, it got me thinking about myself.  It was then I realized I wouldn’t ever turn out to be like my parents, because I made the conscious decision to be a better person than they ever where or ever could be.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

One thought on “Day 198: (A Night At The Movies) It’s Our Choices That Make Us Who We Are

Leave a Reply

