Day 183: (Firsts) The First Time I Got Stitches

“I’m going to twirl around and around and around to see how long I can go without getting dizzy,” I said to my brothers while I got up from the floor and got into twirling position.

“I don’t know.  You could fall backwards and hurt yourself.  I don’t think it’s such a good idea,” my brother John advised while getting up from the floor and grabbing a hold of my arms to prevent me from twirling around.

“Just let go. It couldn’t hurt to try.  Besides, if Lynda Carter can twirl around to become Wonder Woman and not get dizzy or fall down, then I should be able to,” I insisted while yanking my arms free.

“Kiki, Johnny’s right.  You could get hurt.  They have special stunt people to do dangerous stunts for television and the movies.  Those people are specially trained and are skilled.  They know what they are doing.  You don’t.  Don’t do it.  What if you end up in the hospital.  Our parents will be furious.  You know they won’t offer you any sympathy if you get hurt.  So don’t do it,” my brother Stanley advised while he sat on the floor playing with some Legos.

“But I want to see if I can break a record for being the person who can twirl around the longest without getting dizzy.  I want to see if I can end up in the Guinness Book of World Records,” I shrieked as I attempted to twirl around.

“If anything, you’ll crack your head open and end up in the hospital.  You’ll also end up getting stitches.  Our parents will end up with a medical bill they won’t be happy about.  You’ll also get spanked.  You won’t be happy about that, but you’d deserve it for doing something really stupid,” my brother John warned me, shrugging his hands in the air and smacking them down against his legs in disgust.

Again I attempted to twirl around three times.  Then I stopped, because I wanted to think about the way Lynda Carter would twirl around on the Wonder Woman television show.  Satisfied with what I remembered, I attempted again.  I collapsed on my knees, because I got slightly dizzy from twirling around repeatedly.  Getting up from the floor, I attempted to twirl again, when my brother John grabbed a hold of my arms to stop me.  “I told you don’t do it.  You’re already dizzy.  When you fell down you landed on your knees.  You were lucky.  They next time you fall, you won’t be so lucky.  Now stop this nonsense before you get hurt,” he yelled while grasping tight to my arms, and guiding me over to the sofa so I could sit down and rest for a while.

Glancing at the clock resting on top of the end table, I noticed five minutes had gone by.  “That should be plenty of time for me to have recovered.  Since I’ve been resting for at least five minutes, I see no reason why I can’t try twirling around again,” I said while getting up from the sofa, walking over to the far end of the room, and twirled around and around and around.

My brother John ran over to me to catch me, but he was too late.  I fell backwards, banging my head against the floor.

“I’m alright.  I may have a slight headache, but no serious damage,” I said proudly as I felt the back of my head so I could massage it.  It was ringing wet.  Bringing my hand around to see what the moisture was, my hand was drenched with blood.  I screamed as I got up from the floor.  However, I fell down, because of the blood on the floor.

“Stay down while I go get some paper towels from the kitchen,” My brother John yelled to me.

Running back into the room, he wiped some of the blood up from the floor and from my shoes.  He dabbed at my head with a gob of paper towels, and helped me up from the floor.

Ascending the stairs, I walked into the kitchen where our father was cooking.  Glaring at me, he yelled, “What’s the matter with you?”

“I cracked my head open downstairs in the basement,” I cried and screamed.

He ran over to me, shook me violently and slapped my face repeatedly while yelling, “How many times did you mother and I tell you to be careful.  Now look at youself.  You going to cost us money, “he said in a dangerous voice, and yelled to my mother to get into the kitchen.

When she came in and saw the back of my head, she grabbed a hold of my arm and slapped my face.  The she took grabbed her purse from the dining room and drove me to the hospital where I received stitches for the first time ever in my life.  It was scary, but they doctor calmed me down and talked to me while he stitched me up.  I didn’t feel a thing.  I was surprised about not feeling any pain while he stitched up my head.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

