Day 180: (From The Fingers Of Babes) At The Time, I Hated To Read Books

In the third grade, I had to write my first book report.  At the time, I hated to read books.  I found them to be boring regardless of what I read.  I had to write a report about a historical figure.  So, I chose the biography of Amelia Earhart.  I didn’t know much about her at the time, other than her plane disappeared and her body was never to be found.  I already knew the information from what I read of the synopsis on the back of the book.

I thought the book world take me forever to read; therefore, I was reluctant to read it.

Upon arriving home from school, my mother asked, “Kiki, what is your homework for tonight?”

I glared at her with a frown while hanging up my coat in the hall closet, and kicked off my shoes without answering.

“I asked you a question.  What is your homework for tonight,” she said sternly while furling her brows.

“I have to write a report on Amelia Earhart.  The book I have to read is so thick, it will take me forever to read,” I groaned while I collected my backpack full of books and begun ascending the stairs leading up to my bedroom when my mother grabbed a hold of my arm.

“You are to do your lesson downstairs here in the dining room.  This way, you won’t become distracted by your records, your radio or your toys,” she insisted as she pulled me along through entryway of the kitchen, and then through the entryway of the dining room.

She made me sit at the dining room table where she expected me to read the book and take notes.  I stuck with the system my teacher assigned the class for our book reports.  I made an outline with the questions who, what, when, where, how, and why.

I then made a list containing Amelia Earhart’s birth and childhood, teenage years and early adulthood.  Finally I wrote about the events leading up to her death.  I did so by writing a summary of every paragraph in the book I read.  After narrowing it down, I brought the book report down to 500 words.  My mother typed it out for me.  She took me to the grocery store to get a nice covering for the report.  I included all of my handwritten drafts and notes.

It took me all evening and part of the mid hours of morning to read through even half of the book.  Lucky for me, it was the weekend.  I took a study break, and rested for a while.  I then hit the books again reading through the rest of the book and taking notes.  Writing the report was the most agonizing experience of my life.  I thought I’d never finish with the book, but I did.

My mother typed up the first draft of the report, and proof read it.  Then, she typed up the second draft.  Upon completing the second draft, she put it along with all my other drafts and notes into the covering.

Upon arriving to school on Monday morning, I was so excited and pleased with myself and about what I was able to achieve, I gave my report to my teacher right away.

I received it back three days later with the grade of an A-.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

