Day 163: (If I Had…) If 3D Technology Were Available…

If I had 3D technology enabling me to make anything at all, I suppose I’d replicate food. In doing so, I could end hunger in the world. I’d be able to make food plentiful for everyone who couldn’t afford to buy it in the grocery store.

A few years back, when Circuit City electronics store was still around, my aunt, grandmother, and I had just come out of the one in our local area at the time, got into our car, and sat there for a while, waiting for our car to warm up when he saw this homeless person approach the garbage bin outside of Circuit City. The poor soul was digging through it. At first, we thought he was looking for empty pop bottles or pop cans to collect, so he could take to the grocery store to get the refund for them. However, when we saw him eating some food he had just taken out of the garbage, tears fell from my eyes, as they did for my aunt and grandmother.

I remember my aunt’s words. “The poor man. He was looking through the garbage to find food. It’s just so heartbreaking. I’d like to go next door to get him something to eat from Pizza Hut. Maybe a salad or something,” she said while removing her glasses, wiping the tears from her eyes with the palm of her hand.

“They no longer have the salad bars available at Pizza Hut. And even if we ordered him a pizza, he’d be long gone by the time we came back here. I don’t know what else we can do for the man,” I said while wiping the tears away from my own eyes.

I wish I had 3D technology available so I could have made food out of thin air, to give to the man. Perhaps he could have made food out of thin air himself if this type of technology were available.

With 3D technology enabling people to produce anything, there would be no more homelessness, because folks would be able to replicate homes. They’d have someplace to live whenever and wherever they needed a place for shelter.

People could also create currency for whatever country they wanted. Therefore, there would be no poverty in the world. Maybe there wouldn’t even be a need for currency, because anything could be produced whenever and wherever it was needed. No one would run out of anything.

I’d be able to drive for as long as I wanted without having to worry about filling the car up with gas, because all I’d have to due is push a button on my dashboard, and the gas tank would automatically be refilled with gasoline. Therefore, with gas being plentiful, there would be no need for countries to go to war, because we wouldn’t need oil from other countries. There would be peace throughout the world.

If I had this type of technology enabling me to replicate whatever I wanted whenever I wanted were available, I could enjoy the spring season all year round.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

