Flash-Fiction: Day 148: (You And Me And We) Taking A Stand

It’s important to take a stance on different issues in life rather it be coming to the defense of a friend or relative whom you know in the bottom of your heart is right, and is getting treated unjustly, or rather it be an unjust punishment in school.

You remember how back during the 1984-85 school year, you were a sophomore in high school.  You forgot to bring a pencil to class and the teacher wrote you up for a detention.  “I don’t want to do this to you.  But it’s school policy.  Personally, I feel the school system is full of beans.  However, I have no choice.  Here’s your slip, young lady.  Please go report to the office,” your physical science teacher glumly tells you as you head toward the door.

Walking down the hallway, you encounter a friend coming your direction, crying, “What’s wrong, dear?  How can I help you?”

“Not now, please,” she stammered, and started to walk away from you.

“Please.  Maybe I can help.  Confide in me.  You look like you need someone to talk to right now,” you suggested.

“I just came from the office.  I was sent there by my teacher for forgetting a pencil.  I’m supposed to get a seventh hour to stay after school for punishment.  But I never signed the paper admitting to anything.  There’s no way I’ll sign anything admitting I did something wrong when I know in my heart I didn’t,” she sobbed, with tears bursting from her eyes.

Putting your hand on her shoulder, you said, “It’ll be okay.  Don’t worry.  You did the right thing.  Somehow, everything will be alright.  I just know it.”

Upon arriving to the office, you opened the door, walked in and took a seat in the lobby area next to the entrance.  You couldn’t help but take notice of the large amount of students gathered there, sitting in chairs.  “What’s going on here,” You asked, “Is this some kind of student convention for everyone to participate in?”

“We’re all here for punishment.  Our teacher didn’t like the way we did our math problems.  She teaches algebra I.  We used our own formulas and methods to come up with the answers to the various math problems.  Either formula we used, we still got the same end result.  However, she wants us to do things her way, or else.  And, as you can see, we all ended up with the “or else”.  Our punishment.  So what are you doing here?  We rarely ever see you in the office.  You’re a model student.  Why would you be sent down here?” a girl informed you while sitting in a chair along the wall, with her hands folded on her lap, biting her lip.

“I’m here for punishment,” You responded, not really arrogant, but not happy either.

“You’re what?!”  All the students in the office said in unison, shocked.

“Yes, you see, I’m here for punishment, because I forgot to bring a pencil to class.”

“What’s up with that?”  a young man asked, shrugging his shoulders with his palms facing upward.

“I don’t know.  But the school system is so crazy too…”

You stopped in mid sentence, because of the yelling coming from the next room.  There was a girl in the office shouting in the office about being unjustly punished.  She used some choice words to whoever it was she was talking to, and entered the lobby area.  The rest of the students were with their mouths wide open staring at her.

“What are all of you looking at.  What’s the matter.  Ain’t seen nobody get mad before.  Stuff it.  You all know where you can go,” she yelled.

You greeted the girl, but she looked at you using some choice words, walked out of the office and slammed the door.

You were called in next to the into the room the girl who left had just come from.  You come face to face with the vice principle.  “Okay.  You know the drill.  Sign,” he said snidely with a smirk on his face.

“What do you mean by telling me I know the drill.  I’ve never been sent to the office for anything before, ever in my life.  I’m not going to sign anything,” You inform him while smacking your hands down on his table.

“Um.  You have to.  It’s the law,” he said flatly, pushing the paper in your direction.

“By my signing such a slip would be an admission I had done something wrong.  I’m not signing that piece of paper.  Do you hear me?  I’m not signing that piece of paper, particularly when I have done nothing wrong in the first place.  Do you hear me?”  You said while using some choice words, grabbing a hold of the paper he wanted you to sign, ripped it to piece, threw the pieces up in the air, picked up his pen, broke it in half, and threw the pieces up in the air.  Before walking out of the room, you used some choice words again, and left, entering the lobby area where the other students awaited for their punishment.

The other students present looked at you dumbfounded with their mouths wide open.

“What’s the matter with all of you.  Aint’ seen no one get mad before in you lives.  Get out of my sight before I knock all of you out,” you shouted, asking one after the other what each one was looking at, while you used some choice words.

One by one they said, “Nothing.”

By the time you got to the door attempting to open it and exit the lobby, there was another young man sitting where you had been sitting earlier.  He greeted you.  You gave him some choice words, and exited the office.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

