Day 147: (Who’s The Boss?) When It Comes To Having Authority In My Life…

When it comes to having authority in my life, I generally like to be my own boss, unless I’m an employee at a place of business striving to earn a living.  Being an employee at a place of business requires one to have someone who is an authority over them, because the authority figure makes sure tasks in the business are done properly according to the rules and regulations needed to be followed.

However, during the years when I was working for a given place of business, I was usually independent, focusing on completing the given tasks while using common sense.  Very seldom did the bosses ever check up on me to see how I’m doing, or to make sure things were done accordingly.  After working for the business or company for a while, they let me mostly to myself, because they put lots of trust in me, knowing I’d do things accordingly, and how dedicated I was to the job.  I strove to take pride in my work, no matter how big or small the task.

Even the tasks at work seeming insignificant where treated by me with the utmost respect, because all the work required by an employer is important, especially when working in the restaurant business.  It could be something as simple as dusting off light fixtures, counting money in the cash drawer, wiping down the counters and tables.  Everything is important to make sure the business is running smoothly.

Throughout my years of work experience, I’ve worked in a number of industries, consisting of the restaurant business, sales and marketing, publishing industry as a writer, and as I’ve mentioned on several occasions, I had an art gig for a little while.  Throughout the time of working, I’ve learned many lessons along the way.  First, it’s important an employee do what’s required of a given position with a business or company.

While working at McDonald’s Restaurant and at Ryan’s Family Steakhouse, I was one a trainer, in addition to having my regular duties of doing cashier, janitorial work, doing either salad preparations, or desert preparations.  I also worked in the area of public relations.  Having good public relations is just as important in the restaurant business as it is in any other industry.  As a cashier, I was one of the first people if not the first person the customer encounters in the store.  It was up to me not only to make a good impression on the customer, but my position also required me to treat the customer with courtesy and respect, in addition to performing the other duties my position required of me.

If I had a question or concern, I went directly to a manager to seek guidance.  Whenever, I had a difficult customer, I simply excused myself from my position and sought the help of a manager to assist me with dealing with the customer, as was the policy of the given restaurants I worked in.  As an employee, I was told by the management, under no circumstances was I to handle the difficult situation with a customer on my own, because the management was especially trained to effectively handle the situation.

During the years I worked in the area of sales and marketing, I first worked for a cutlery business.  Throughout the training sessions, I discovered many things.  First off, even though they trained us to tell the customer they aren’t obligated to buy anything, we had to be underhanded to discreetly persuade the customer into making purchases.  The boss gave each sales person quotas to meet.  If the quota’s weren’t meant when it came to having at least x number of sales, we got stern lectures.  I had to endure such a thing.  Finally, I came to a decision the cutlery company wasn’t the right industry for me.  I didn’t subscribe to the dishonest ethics of the boss nor the company.  I had too much integrity to allow myself to be forced to be underhanded when it came to dealing with clients or customers.  No one should be forced into making a purchase of anything if they weren’t interested.  Clearly, all the cutlery company cared about was making money.  The folks running the business cared nothing about people.

Years later, I got involved with a nice company specializing in the sales of health and nutrition products.  I was a distributor for the company from October 1994 thru some time in 1996.  Everyone involved with the company was wonderful.  Even if a distributor only made one sale for the day or even for the week, there was praise for the accomplishment, in addition to encouragement.  The motto of the company was if even one person could be helped by the company’s products to get their health back on track, nothing else mattered.

The company did and still does care very much about people.  I respected and admired this about the company, and still do.  I left my position with the company for the simple reason I was going through some personal problems at the time.  I thought it to be in my best interest to focus on my writing pursuits.  For me, writing was a form of therapy to heal on the emotional level.  Although it’s been years since I was a distributor for the health and nutrition company, I got back on their health and nutrition products through a good friend of mine and my family we first got acquainted with during the years I was a distributor with the company.  This good friend in question was the one who trained me regarding my duties as a distributor, and was my mentor.  She is now my wellness coach, helping me for a little over a year now with getting my health back on track.

Back in 1994, when I had an art gig, I was arrogant.  I didn’t do the kinds of sketches asked of me.  I was supposed to draw sketches of animals for my client, but instead, I drew the type of subject matter I wanted, thinking I was so smart and would impress the client, regardless of what I drew.  Consequently, I was fired from the art gig.  It’s the only job I was ever fired from.  I didn’t do the work required of me.  I didn’t want to be told what I should draw, because I felt I knew more about art than my client did.  I thought I knew everything about life at the time.  However, I didn’t do what was in the best interest of my client, in the sense I didn’t give her what she was intending to pay for.  I learned when someone else is willing to put forth money for an art gig, it’s important to do what’s expected.  It’s important to give the client what they are intending to pay for.  Don’t give them something they don’t want.  Do what is expected.  I learned from the experience to have a little more respect not only for the blessings I had been given in life.  The art gig was a blessing for me, and I took it for granted, losing the job in the process.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

