(Draft #2) Flash-Fiction: Day 142: (Obstacles) Dominica Moore’s Struggles For Obtaining Employment

“Don’t worry, Dominica.  I feel in my gut  you’ll land some interviews within the next two weeks.  Don’t give up hope.  I also sense this is the primary reason you’ve been feeling so sad, because you haven’t been able to land a job.  Just keep trying.”

“I don’t know what I’ll do if I don’t land a job soon.  I get bored just sitting here at home doing nothing,” Dominica sighed while sitting cross legged on her bed, grasping her cell phone in one hand, and doodling in her journal with another while listening to her friend on the phone.

“Take comfort in what you have, Dominica.  You’re a talented writer, who has people at home who love you and give you moral support.  Somehow, you’ll land an interview for a job.  I know this, because I can feel it in my gut.  Don’t despair, my dear.  And no matter what, just keep submitting those applications and resumes like you’ve been doing.  It will keep you busy, and give you something to strive for,” Irlene advised her.

“I have been struggling financially for a few years now.  Due to the obstacle of passing my practice test for obtaining my State License to sell Life Insurance at Prominence Insurance Company a few years ago, I left to focus once again on my writing pursuits.  Although I’ve had several book publications up until some point in 2011, I hadn’t published any books since, because of my failure to make good sales,” Dominica sighed, while she struggled to hold down the huge lump in her throat.

“Dominica, dear, don’t get so overwhelmed with frustration.  For now, focus on writing poetry and journal entries in your journal to let go of your built up frustrations. I know your  being a caregiver for your elderly grandmother, and struggles with landing a job isn’t easy.  But take heart.  Something will come along.  You need to have faith,” Irlene assured her.

The following afternoon, Dominica went to a job placement service where she met with a recruiter.

“My name is Cara.  Welcome,” she said while getting up from her seat to shake hands with Dominica as she walked into the office.

“I’m Dominica Moore.  It’s a pleasure to make your acquaintance, ma’am,” Dominica replied while taking a seat opposite of Cara.

“We received your resume.  You have lots of good credentials.  However, I’m wondering exactly what type of work your are looking for.  Here at Starline Recruiting, we have only factory work and office work.  However, on your resume, you don’t indicate any experience in either area of business or industry.  I do see you have computer skills and typing.  However, I don’t know at this point where we can place you,” Cara said solemnly while looking over Dominica’s credentials.

“I’ll take anything you have available, even if it’s for minimum wages.  Although I don’t have any experience with factory work, I’m always willing to learn.  I catch on quickly to new skills,” Dominica said excitedly while folding her hands on her lap.

“Yes, but Dominica, right now we have employers seeking seasoned workers who already know that kind of work.  It requires lots of heavy lifting.  I’m not sure you’d be able to do so.  Other than factory work, exactly what other type of work were you interested in?”

“I’d love to be a bank teller.  I do know computers, have excellent typing skills, and knowledge of operating a copier, Fax machine, and adding machine.  I’ve been typing for at least 19 years.  Surely, there must be something available meeting my skills set,” Dominica sighed.

“I’m sorry, Dominica.  There just isn’t anything available right now.  We don’t have any employers who are currently seeking bank tellers.  But, I wish you the best of luck in your career pursuits,” Cara smiled as she got up from her seat, walked over to Dominica, shook her hand and bid her goodbye.

Sometime in 2012, Dominica sat on her bed deep in thought.  She whispered in prayer, “Lord, I know how much I wanted the bank teller position before.  And things have gone well thus far with the interviews I’ve had thus far with the recruiters.  Right now, my gut is telling me I will get the job.  Now things feel certain, I’m scared about getting what I’ve been wanting all these years.  I don’t want the job anymore.  I realize now how much I have to think about my health.  I’m diabetic.  I won’t be able to take a lunch break at the times when I’m feeling hungry.  Being diabetic, I have to eat my meals at the same times each day.  Not only that, but I have to snack every now and then to maintain healthy blood sugar levels.  What’s going to happen at work should I get sick and puke, because I wasn’t able to have my snack?  I also worry about having to go shopping every week to buy new clothes, because I’d worry about having to wear each article of clothing more than once.  No, Lord.  I’ve come to realize I’d be more happier doing what I love the most.  Writing is my passion.  I now see it is what I should be focusing on, instead of getting a job.  Please take away my good chances of landing the job, and give it to someone else who needs it more than I do.”

Two days later, Dominica checked her email.  “Thank God.  I didn’t get the job after all,” Dominica sighed in relief.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

