Day 132: (Time) Where Does My Time Go?

Where does my time go?  To me time is precious even though I don’t always use it wisely.  I write at various times of the day.  However, it depends on when I’m the most alert.  Lately, I haven’t been as productive with my writing as I’d like to be, because the allergens in the air have made me so tired.  I’ve only been able to accomplish on composition a day these past two or three days, due to exhaustion.  I guess I should be grateful I’ve managed to composed anything, let alone being able to get in my 500 words in each day.

I’d like to get back to writing up to three or four compositions daily.  However, it’s been hard to find the energy to do so.  Perhaps if I tried going to bed earlier, it may help.  However, it’s not easy, because my aunt likes to stay up very late at night to watch her favorite televisions of ME t. v.   She relies on me to help her with caring for my grandmother, especially when it comes to transferring her to and from the wheelchair, and put her in bed.

I’ve often suggested we put my grandmother in bed earlier than we do, so I too can get to bed earlier; however, my aunt’s excuse is, “Then she’ll be up all night long, because she won’t be able to sleep.”

The problem is my grandmother sleeps during the day.  I often talked to my aunt about getting her back on a nighttime schedule for sleeping, but my aunt’s excuse is, “I’m too tired to get up in the morning, let alone get her up in the morning.  So I sleep late until he early to late part of noon.  Your grandmother can’t get up out of bed until I’m ready to get up.”

I write whenever I can.  If I’m awake and alert enough at 8 a. m., then I go straight to work on my computer, composing my latest piece of writing.  Otherwise, I get up during the early to late part of noon to begin working on my writing compositions.

Upon completing my first composition for the day, I generally take a break to read from my collection of books, or I help my aunt with getting my grandmother out of bed, so we can get ready to run some errands.

When we arrive home, I usually head straight to the kitchen to get dinner started, while my aunt is tending to my grandmother.  Once she’s done tending to my grandmother and her needs, my aunt comes into the kitchen to help me with dinner preparations.

I usually like to get some writing compositions completed after dinner.  I then take a break, complete another writing composition, and relax for the rest of the night.

At bedtime, I help my aunt with getting my grandmother ready for bed.  I then get ready for bed, myself, reading a good book until I get drowsy enough to fall asleep.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

