Day 121: (Solitude) I Enjoy The Quiet

Everyone has his or her own opinion when it comes to solitude.  As for me, I like being alone when I can, because I enjoy the quiet, allotting me time to think, reflect, and clear my head.

Most of the time, I’m around the relatives I live with, and I can only write in 15 minute increments at time when in the morning or early afternoon when they are still sleeping.  I take advantage of every opportunity of quiet I can.  Otherwise, when they are in the same room with me, and I feel the sudden spark to write, I have to do so with background chatter from my aunt and grandmother.  I don’t mind the television being on when I’m writing, because, strangely enough, it’s sound is rather comforting.

However, I know how much better it is to write in complete silence.  I suppose I could go into my aunt and grandmother’s bedroom to write during the evening where it’s much quieter.  I find when I have alone time, I’m better focused.

I’m currently involved in Mr. Jeff Goins The Art of Work course.  I usually listen to the video recordings for each of the lessons in a room where I’m alone.  The same is true when it comes to completing the written exercises following the video recordings.

Generally, when I’m in the zone, I don’t like to be bothered.  However, throughout the day, if my aunt needs my help with transferring my grandmother from the wheelchair to wherever else and vice versa, she depends on me to assist her, because it takes two people to do so, however much it upsets me to get interrupted.

Very seldom am I home alone.  However, every now and then, I tell my aunt about how I really need to get some work done on my computer, or complete some articles for the day.  I ask her if she and my grandmother could please run their errands without me for the day.  She usually complies.

When I’m in the zone, I don’t even answer the phone when it rings.  I figure if it’s an important call, they’ll call back at a later time.

I enjoy the solitude also because of the spiritual aspects about it.  It enables me to get in touch with my inner self, enabling me to dig a little deeper into myself when it comes to my writing, than I otherwise would be able to being around the relatives I live or anyone.

However, I always make the effort to dig deep into myself when I’m writing, regardless if I’m completely alone, or amongst my family members.  Generally, it’s hard to get the quiet when my grandmother is laying in bed, because she cries from aches and pains, such as she is doing at this very moment.

My aunt offers her some pain reliever; however, my grandmother isn’t receptive to take it.  She only continues to complain more.  I realize she’s up in her years at 93 ½ years old.  She’ll be 94 years old in August of this year; however, it’s nerve racking when she cries and complains.  If only she’d be receptive to taking the pain relievers for her aches and pains.

Strangely enough, a beautiful, soothing form of solitude for me is when there is snoring going on in my house.  It doesn’t bother me at all, especially when I’m working on a given piece of writing.  For me, it is a comfort.  I consider all forms of solitude to be a true blessing.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

