Day 114: Technology Bites (Or The Geeks Rule The World) If Only I Listened Sooner

I love the many advances in technology.  People can make movies by using something simple as a cell phone or Smart Phone.  I love the convenience of being able to take photographs at the spur of the moment, because I always have my cell phone handy.

Years ago, if I wanted to take pictures of something or someone, I always had to plan ahead, so I could make sure I had my camera handy.  However to plan for the opportunity ahead of time to take pictures didn’t really work out, because the opportunities never appeared.

Through the use of my cell phone, I can take pictures of the sun without fear of damaging my eyes; whereas, if I were to do this with a regular camera, it wouldn’t be possible with the sun glaring down upon me.

I like the advantages today’s technology offers when it comes to being able to take my music with me.  I can listen to my music regardless of where I am, because it is stored on my cell phone.

What I hate about technology is when my computer or any other electronics decide to be stubborn, and don’t function as they should.  I give you an example.  Last week, I had difficulties when it came to getting my computer to communicate with my printer so I can make hard copies of some of my documents.  I sat for four hours struggling with it to no avail.  All I achieved was anger and frustration.  Many years ago, when I was in high school, my psychology teacher’s favorite expression was “If a goal directed behavior is blocked, frustrations results.”  It certainly does.  My goal directed behavior was blocked, and frustration definitely occurred.

Throughout the time I spent yelling at my computer, my aunt and uncle both told me, “Let’s take it to a technician right now.  This way the problem will be resolved much quicker than you’d be able to do on your own.”

However, being the stubborn mule I was, I responded, “No, I don’t feel like driving down there right now.  Especially considering the time I’d have to waste driving down there.  It will take an hour, and I don’t have an hour to spare.”

So, instead, I ended up spending four hours trying to accomplish my goal on my own.  More time was wasted than had I took it to a technician right away like my aunt and uncle advised.  Finally, I gave up and said, “Alright.  Let’s go.  I want to take it to a technician.  Lord knows I’ve wasted enough time with this piece of crap already.”

Upon taking it down to our local Office Max, the technician took a look at it, and found the problem right away.  He also resolved it in only a matter of 20 minutes.  I was told, “Your printer software was installed into your computer twice.  Evidently, you touch a wrong button by mistake when you were trying to do something else on the computer.  But it’s alright now.”

When I asked him how much I owed him for his time, he said, “Just $14.”

I was amazed, because I was thinking it would be over $100.

I learned my biggest lesson.  If I can’t fix something myself, take it to someone who can.  I’ll save time, aggravation and frustration, in the long run.  I’ll also accomplish more work by doing so.

If I was an expert in technology, I would invent a device allowing me to communicate with people of the past.  In doing so, I would also come up with an electronic means for traveling to outer worlds in space.  Perhaps I would invent a device allowing me to go back in time to meet famous historical figures, or I could travel far into the future, and prevent wars and other catastrophes from occurring.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

