Day 113: (All The World’s A Stage) Life With Grandma

FADE IN:

WIDE SHOT:

Dominica Moore sits on the sofa typing away on her computer working on her latest piece of fiction.  Her grandmother’s voice can be heard in the background.

Grandma:  I want to get up.  I don’t want to sleep right now.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON DOMINICA:

WIDE SHOT:

Dominica stops what she’s is doing, gets up from the sofa, leaves the leaving room, walks down the hallway and enters her grandmother’s bedroom.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON DOMINICA:

Dominica:  Grandma, what’s going on that you have to yell and scream.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON GRANDMA:

Grandma:  I want to get up out of bed and go out.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON DOMINICA;

Dominica:  Wait until Aunt Doris gets back from running some errands with Uncle Davis.  You know he doesn’t have his car right now, because it’s in the shop.  I suggest you wait, and be patient.  There’s no need to scream.  I suggest you close your eyes and get some more sleep.

WIDE SHOT ON GRANDMA:

Grandma:  (Yelling.) Dominica, you know I can’t stay in bed all day.  I need to get up now.  I want to start my day.  So call your Aunt Doris, and tell her I need her to come straight home right now to help with getting up and out of bed.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON DOMINICA:

Dominica:  (In a stern voice.) Grandma, there’s no need to yell.  I can’t call her right now, especially if she’s on the road.  When she and Uncle Davis are ready to come home they will.  You need to be more patient.  I can’t get you up out of bed on my own.  When they left the house an hour and a half ago, you were sleeping.

WIDE SHOT ON DRIVEWAY:

Doris Feldman pulls her car into the driveway, brings it to a stop.  She and Davis Feldman open the doors, exit, and close the car, shutting the doors behind them.

WIDE SHOT:

Doris and Davis walk up to the entrance of the house.  Doris takes her house keys out from her purse, slips the key into the lock and opens the door.  The two of the enter the living room.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON DOMINICA/WIDE SHOT ON DORIS & DAVIS:

Dominica is sitting on the sofa typing away at her computer, when they walk in.  They greet her in unison.

Davis Feldman:  Hello, Dominica.

Doris Feldman:  Hello, Dominica.

Grandma’s voice is heard in the background.  She’s still yelling about wanting to get up.

WIDE SHOT ON UNCLE DAVIS AND AUNT DORIS:

Davis Feldman removes his coat, hangs it up in the closet, walks over to his lounge chair, picks up a hunting periodical, sits down and reads it.

CLOSE UP ON AUNT DORIS:

WIDE SHOT ON AUNT DORIS:

Doris exits the living room, walks down the hall, enters hers and Grandma’s bedroom.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON GRANDMA:

Grandma:  Where have you been all this time, Doris.  I’ve been waiting all this time.  I was better off at my own home, than to stay here.

CLOSE UP SHOT ON DORIS:

Doris: Ma, you know I was taking Davis to run his errands.  He had to pay the Consumer’s bill, and the phone bill.  Then, we went to see his insurance agent, because the lady needed to have him fill out some papers.  She needed additional information from him.  From there, we went to the grocery story to get some groceries.  There’s no need to get upset.  You know you can’t go home to your house.  Number one, you can’t climb the stairs, and number two, if you attempted to climb the stairs, you could damage your broken hip more.  The doctor said should this happen, you’ll be bedridden.  The way things are now, at least you can stand with our help.

Grandma is crying and whining.

CLOSE UP ON GRANDMA:

Grandma:  I was fine when I was at my house.  I don’t like it here.  I can’t go where I want, when I want.  I want to go home to my house.

CLOSE UP ON DORIS:

Doris:  You know why you can’t go home.  We are all doing our very best to help you and to make you comfortable.  Don’t be that way.  I’ll have Dominica come inside and help me get you up out of bed in just a bit.  If you want, we can go to Walmart or to the Dollar Tree to look around.  This way, you can get out of the house for a while and get some fresh air.

FADE OUT:

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

