Flash-Fiction: The Life And Times of Alfredo Dante

Alfredo Dante grew up in an unconventional family.  There was violence in the household going on even before he was born.  It carried over into his own life as he grew older, even through up through the time he was a teenager, he was gentle by nature.  However, he grew up to be so sensitive to given situations, he’d often handle his problems using his fists, often landing him in jail and with the wrong crowd.

Upon getting released from jail by some long time school friends, he often met with them to do drugs and drink.  He did this to take away the pain of his painful past of growing up with a father who was violently aggressive and always blamed him for the death of Alfredo’s brother.

As he got older, Alfredo was in and out of jail, spending a great deal of time going from job to job, until he wasn’t able to obtain employment.  Getting high on drugs made him disillusioned, and often dangerous to be around.

One day he went to the house of his neighbor and friend Fred, and told him in a dangerous voice, “I want you to stop hassling me, and quit talking about me behind my.  You and Cal put listening devices in my house, and laugh at me behind my back,” as he shoved Fred and punched him in the face.

“Alfredo, I don’t know what you’re talking about.  You and I have been friends for a long time.  We grew up together.  How and why would you think I would do such a thing to you.  I never did any of those things you’re accusing me of?  Look.  I advise you to leave my house right now, before I’m forced to call the police.  I don’t want to do it, Alfredo, but if you leave me no choice, I will.  So, I suggest you go home, calm down.  When you’ve come to your senses, come see me.  Then, we’ll talk,” Fred shouted, while shoving Alfredo out his door.

Alfredo went home, to an ax, and headed back over to Fred’s house.  He took the axe and smashed in the windshield on Fred’s car.  He also bashed in the head lights, and broke the rest of the car windows, signal lights and tail lights.

Soon afterwards, the police showed up, placed him under arrest, read him his rights, shoved him into their police car, and hauled him off to jail.

Alfredo was exposed to drugs at a young age of 13 years old, when he fell in with the wrong crowd.  The same friend who called the police on him was the same friend who introduced him to drugs and got him hooked on them.  As Alfredo got older, he became more and more disillusioned, not only from the drugs he was taking, but also resulting from the traumatic aftereffects of the violence and abuse he endured at the hands of his parents when he was growing up.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

