Day 91: (April Fool) The Best Prank Ever

I was 8 ½ years old, playing in my bedroom with my dolls, when I conceived a great  prank to play on my brothers.  They were always taking my belongings and hiding them from me, so I wanted to get back at them badly.

I spent most of my morning writing notes in my journal as to how I would go about getting back at them for all the pranks they pulled on me.

Then, an idea came to me.  I took the empty ice cream buckets, and filled them with water.  I went into their bedroom, got inside their closet, and stuck one bucket full of water on top of their closet door, careful to exit the closet without knocking the bucket of water on me, and did the same to the entrance to their bedroom.

I went into our parents bedroom, and looked out the window where I could see our backyard.  My brothers were playing on our swing set.

Those boys are so clueless.  However, they have been brats lately.  They deserve every drop of water on their heads they’ll get when they go into their bedroom today.  I can’t wait for my plan to unfold flawlessly, I thought as I smiled to myself.

I went back to my own bedroom, got out a book to read and lay on my bed reading.  However, boredom set in.  So I put some records on my record player and listened to some music for a while.  I got restless again.

I went downstairs into our kitchen, took some ice cream out of the freezer, and put some into a bowl for myself.  Then, I got some chocolate syrup out of the refrigerator, and poured it onto my ice cream.  After tasting it, I said to myself, “This would be even better with a chopped banana added into it,” while taking a banana out of the refrigerator and chopping it up.

Taking my bowl of ice cream over to the table, I sat down and enjoyed it.

While I was eating my ice cream, I said to myself, “I wonder how long those two brats are going to be playing outside.  It’s frustrating waiting around for them to come in, and wait for my brilliant plan to unfold.  But, oh, well.  I guess it’s like the old saying goes.  Good things come to those who wait.  And those brats getting what they have coming to them is going to be a very good thing,” laughing while I stuffed my mouth with some more ice cream.

Getting up from the table, I went over to the sink, washed by bowl and spoon, and put them into the dish rack.  Next, I washed my mouth to get rid of the evidence of my having had some ice cream.

I heard my brothers come in through the side door of our house.  They ran upstairs where our bedrooms were.  I followed them to see exactly where they were going.

When they opened the door to their bedroom, the bucket of water crashed upon their heads, getting them soaked.   They were crying in frustration.  Then they opened the door to their closet to get some clean, dry clothes to wear, and they got soaked again when the second bucket of water came crashing down upon their heads.  It was the best prank ever.

Although they still played pranks on me, they learned their lesson for a while not to come into my bedroom again.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

