A Day Of Fun In The Snow

“The brain is wider than the sky,” I said to my brothers as we played outside in the snow back in the 1977.  We were making forts to hide in, and pretend we were in the wild parts of Alaska.  Actually, we considered them to be our versions of igloos.

“What are you talking about?”  My brother John asked while gathering handfuls of snow, packing it down and smoothing it with his little shovel.

“I mean that our brain has a wide capacity to fill up with all kinds of information.  Did you know there are other worlds out there that we can see with the power of our minds?”  I asked while wandering through the knee high snow in my boots looking for a special place to build my fort or igloo.

“How can there be worlds in our minds?”  My youngest brother Stanley asked while stomping his foot against the snow mound to pack it down good.

“When you close your eyes, just relax, and you can see pictures.  Not just any pictures, Stanley, but moving pictures,” I replied while adjusting my scarf on my mouth, because it was a bit loose.

“What kinds of pictures?  Do you mean like a movie?”  John asked, as he continued to pack on the snow, and digging a big hole on the side of the large snow mound.

“Well, kind of.  You can see life play out before your eyes.  I think you could even see the future,” I said, while scooping up some snow into my hands, packing it in the spot I chose, and patting it down with my hands.  By that time, my knitted gloves were soaked with wetness from the snow, but not quite through to my hands.

“I think we should go back inside, before we freeze our hands.  Look how wet my gloves are,” I said while walking over to where they were working, to show them my gloves.

I put my hands against Stanley’s face, and he got upset, saying, “Don’t you ever do that again.  I don’t like getting my face all wet, even if my face is half covered with my scarf.  Those gloves are icy and cold.”

“Let’s go inside like Kiki said, Stanley.  It’s getting to windy out here,” John advised.

Climbing out of the snow mound, I followed my brothers down our driveway, walked up to the front entrance of our house, and went inside.

Upon taking off our boots in the closed in porch, we entered the interior of our house stocking feet, removed our coats, and walked over to the closet to hang them up.

Our mother told us to change our socks, and to take them downstairs into the basement with our gloves , hats and scarves so she could wash them.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

