Flash-Fiction: Day 86: (Repurposing) My Soul Is Faint And My Breaths Are Icy

“My soul is faint, and my breaths are icy,” I said to my mother while I channeled my inner strength, but the cold went through my slacks, penetrating all the way into my bones.  It was a long morning having to wait for the school bus.  It was so windy my face hurt.  Even with gloves on, my hands ached like they never ached before in my life.

About two hours earlier, my mother got my brothers and me up to get ready for school.  I was feeling tired and didn’t feel like getting out of bed.  She made me anyway, yelling, “You have to go to school.  As long as you’re not sick, you are going to school,” while pulling my covers off of me, turning my feet around, letting them hang off of the bed.

“I don’t want to go to school right now.  Can’t I sleep a bit more, and go to school later.  It wouldn’t matter if I missed a couple hours of school,” I protest while swinging my legs back upon the bed, reaching for the covers.

My mother swung my legs over the bed again, grabbed a hold of my arms, and yanked me out of bed, yelling, “You’re going to school whether you like it or not, and that’s final.  There’s no way I’m allowing you to skip school.  You need to get an education.  It’s time you put your nose in your books.  Being popular with your classmates in fine.  It shows excellent social skills.  But you need to improve in academics, if you are going to make a success of yourself someday.  Stop being so lazy.  Now get dressed, go into the bathroom, wash your face, brush your teeth, fix your hair, and go downstairs into the kitchen where you can have some breakfast.  You need to hurry so I can drive you and your brother to the bus stop.  If you don’t do as you’re told, you will not be permitted to attend your girl scout activities for the next two weeks, because you will be grounded,” while walking over to my closet, making clothing selections for me to wear to school.

Not wanting to miss out on my Girl Scout activities, I reluctantly got out of bed, and got ready for school.

Upon arriving to the bus stop that morning, I could see my brother’s friends tossing a football back and forth.  My brother and I joined them.  My being a girl didn’t deter anything.  You boys were happy to have me join them in a game.  It was a good means for me to warm up a bit.  Even with my coat, boots and other winter attire, I was still freezing.

Two hours passed, and the bus had yet to arrive.

One of the supervisors got worried, saying to my mother, “This isn’t like the bus driver to be so late for these kids.  Something has to be wrong.  I wonder if the man got stuck in the snow.”

“Whatever the reason is, remember he has a C. B. where he can call in any trouble to report it.  If he did have any problems like that, surely he would have called it in for obtaining assistance.  I think it’s a rotten thing to do by making these kids wait out in the cold like this.  It’s ridiculous.  My kids haven’t been sick all year long.  Now, who knows how this cold will affect them,” my mother replied furling her eyebrows, with her arms crossed, walking back and forth to keep warm.

By the time the bus finally arrived, my toes ached from the cold.

Upon our arrival to school, I went into my home room, took off my coat, changed out of my boots, grabbed my tennis shoes and my books, and headed out the door to go to my language arts class.

I carried my shoes, because my toes hurt so bad from the cold.  I took fast paced breaths, to help alleviate some of the pain, while rubbing my feet.

After giving them a chance to warm up a bit, I put on my shoes, and focused on the lecture my teacher was giving.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

