Flash-Fiction: Tea Time With Lois

“Hello. My name is Lois. State your business, while I get you a cup of tea. I hope you don’t mind if I smoke a cigarette. Lord knows it’s been a long day at the dinner. I’m 65 years old, and still going strong,” she said while striking a match to light her cigarette.

Puffing away with the cigarette hanging from her mouth, Lois grabs the tea kettle, and pours a cup of tea for the man from the local paper. He’s a journalist interviewing her about her family history.

“So tell me, Miss Lois…”

“It’s just Lois. No need to get fancy shmancy. Lois. Plain and simple, that’s all. Now, what can I do for you?”

“Tell me about how far your family roots go back here in the United States,” he said while he accepts the cup of tea from her, and takes a sip, “Ahh. This is hot, but good.”

“It’s tea. What you expect? So, my family roots. I’d say it started with my Great-Grandfather Milton who fought in the American Revolutionary War. He was a soldier. You could say he was a war hero. But not well known. Just a minor figure who played a small role in bringing about freedom in this country, when this country became independent from England,” she said while removing the cigarette from her mouth, and tapping it onto her china plate, and putting it back into her mouth, noticing the man’s furled eyebrow, “We’re not fancy in these parts. I use whatever I can for an ashtray, as you can see. This old nursing home isn’t much, but I call it home. My daughter lives in Seattle with her husband and two kids. They come to visit me on the weekends.”

“Back to your great-great grandfather. Can you tell me if he sailed with the President and Captain George Washington,” he asked while making notations in his notebook.

“He was a minor figure in history. I know nothin’ about him traveling with George Washington. It’s enough he was a soldier who fought for bringin’ about freedom in this country, that’s all,” she replied while getting up from the table with cigarette still hanging from her mouth, “Excuse me. I’m gettin’ tired. I’ve got nothin’ more to add. Thank you for stoppin’ by, mister. But, now, I got to get my feet massaged by a nurse,” walking away without saying another word.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

