Day 59: (Two months, y’all) These Past Couple Of Months Have Been Extraordinary

These past couple of months have been extraordinary.  Since beginning the writing challenge, I’ve not only accomplished a great deal of writing through daily practice, but there is also the feeling of exhilaration.  Since then I’ve started more than one series of stories.  I hope down the road they will become novels.  I’m working on multiple projects at once.  I’m excited about them.  Writing makes me look forward to getting up in the morning and starting my day with a smile.

I’ll admit when there are days when I’m not sure where to begin my writing regarding some of the writing challenges, but I persevere and tug through it by allowing my mind to be clear enough where I’d be enabled to relax.  Once this is done, I let my thoughts pour out freely and compose.

I’ve enjoyed connecting and getting acquainted with the folks on the My 500 Words Facebook Page, in that they have been so supportive.  I’d also like to thank those folks who checked out my blog.  It’s such a rewarding experience to be able to write about topics others can enjoy, through reading my articles and stories.

This has been a remarkable journey so far.

My 500 Words has brought out the best in me and in my writing capabilities.  Prior to getting involved with My 500 Words, I didn’t think I had any more stories left to tell.  However, through participating in the daily writing challenges, I was forced to dig deeper into myself.  Doing so made me realize there are stories within me that have just of late come to the surface.  I hadn’t thought about those experiences in so many, many years.

I had long forgotten about many of my childhood experiences way back when my brothers and I would pick dandelions, put them under each other’s chins and say, “You’ve got butter.  You’ve got butter.”

Other fond memories resurfacing through this writing challenge were our days spent playing Dodge Ball, Money In The Middle, and Monkey In The Middle.  We also played Keep Away, and Kick Ball.  These days of childhood innocence are long gone, but the experiences are a part of me, and are a part of who I am.  They comprise my overall personality.

I’ve discovered I have a treasure trove of memories in the back of my mind.  I only had to allow myself the opportunity to relax, close my eyes, and think back to those years.

Although on many occasions, things were difficult through dealing with abusive parents, those few days my siblings and I were enabled to just be children will always have a special place in my heart.

This daily writing challenge has not only help me to find my groove again, but it has given me back my childhood, and a part of myself, through enabling me to relive the countless adventures my brothers, our cousins, our friends and I had through these beautiful experiences.   Participating in the daily writing challenge has been both an honor and a great privilege.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

