Day 58: (You Are A Writer) I Turned To Writing To Release To Voice My Convictions

I started writing poetry back when I was in the first grade.  I loved music.  So one day I sat down in my bedroom, and thought I’d try my hand at writing my own song lyrics.  It turned out to be more of a poem that anything else.  I discovered I really loved it.  So I wrote some more pieces of poetry.  I gave them to friends as gifts.

When I was 8 ½ years old, one of my cousins introduced my to skit writing and play writing.  We wrote them together with my brothers and our friends.  Our first play was our own rendition of Mark Anthony and Cleopatra.  We wrote, performed, directed and produced, in addition to acting in the plays and skits we wrote.

In addition to plays, we did puppet shows, and musical numbers, singing to the music of Sonny & Cher, The Partridge Family, The Monkees, and other such musicians popular at the time.

By the time I was in the third grade, my interest switched to science.  At  the time, I considered become a poultry scientist when I grew up.  However, my father discouraged me, because he didn’t want me to have anything to do with farming.  He wanted something better for me.  Not only did he discourage me, but so did many of his friends, even though it wasn’t any of their business.  And so ended my decision to become a poultry scientist.

In the fourth grade, my elementary school held a book writing contest.  However, what initially inspired me to write a book was after my fourth grade teacher read my class Judy Blume’s Tales Of The Fourth Grade Nothing.  This story resonated with me so much, I was inspired to write my own book.  Judy Blume is my most favorite children’s book author of all time.  I admired the way she brought out truths about the innocence of childhood, especially sibling rivalry.  She wrote about subject matter most anyone could relate to.

By the time I was in the fifth grade, my interest in writing grew stronger.  My fifth grade homeroom teacher assigned the class weekly spelling words.  With the weekly spelling words we were to write a story.  On Friday of each week, each student was to present it to the class.  We were each assigned numbers, of which my teacher drew from a hat to determine the order the stories would be presented.  My number was #21.  The class looked forward to having my number called each week, because my stories became the favorite of the class.

It was during the sixth grade that I went back to writing poetry.  I was having difficulties at home and at school, following my family moving out in the country, and my being forced to attend a school that was quite different from the one I was used to.  At this school, it was the students that set the standards when it came to the clothing selections.  It was the clothes that mattered to them, not people themselves.  This was because many of those kids were spoiled and weren’t brought up right by their parents.  I got beat up and bullied all the time at that school, because I didn’t wear designer jeans.  So to deal with my troubles I had both at home from abusive parents, and the abuse I received from my classmates at school, I turned to poetry to release my feelings, thoughts, views, and convictions.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

