Day 44: (From The Mouths Of Babes): “I Know It’s Not Much, But It’s All We’ve Got”

Nothing is more precious than children, and the things that they say.  The biggest lessons adults can learn in life most of the time comes from the mouth of a child.

It was May 1977, and my uncle’s birthday was approaching.  My mother made him a birthday cake.

My brothers and I helped her clean the house.  We invited friends over from across the street, and some other friends and family from church.

My dad bought some nice steaks of which he prepared with care.

My aunt and grandmother helped my mother wrap the gifts to be given to my uncle.

My brothers and I wanted to give a gift of out own, so we gathered our money from our piggybanks.

Following dinner, we had cake ice cream.  My uncle was then presented with his birthday gifts.  He opened them, and liked what we got.

My brother John and I decided to have our youngest brother Stanley present the gift of money to our uncle from the three of us.  We put it into an envelope of which I sealed.

Stanley was only 4 ½ years old at the time.  He tugged on the pant leg of our uncle’s pants, presented him with the money, saying, “I know this isn’t much.  But it’s all we’ve got,” with tears in his eyes, “I wish it was more.  But it’s all we’ve got.”

Our uncle took the envelope from my brother’s hands, and opened it.  Inside were some coins and a dollar bill.  He was so touched and deeply moved by the gesture, and said, “It’s the most beautiful gift I’ve ever received.”

The words that my brother spoke at 4 ½ years old, “It’s not much, but it’s all we’ve got,” has a big lesson for all adults.  Children may not have much, but they often give all they have.  Their hearts are honest and pure.  As a child, my brother Stanley showed that children love with all they are.  Honesty, and goodness is something adults sometimes forget to display toward others, often not taking the feelings of others into consideration.

I know some folks that are my parents age or a little older who think only of exaggerating their wealth, because they feel the need to impress others.

My brother as the age of 4 ½ wasn’t trying to impress anyone.  He was just being himself, thoughtful, caring, and loving.  These are attributes that some folks as adults don’t always remember to keep in mind, because as adults, we often get caught up in our own problems, we forget what’s most important in life, those who are dearest to them.  It’s important that we show them all of the time how much they mean to us, not just through the spoken word alone.  It’s important to remember that actions speak louder than words.

The day my youngest brother Stanley presented our uncle with the gift of money from himself, our brother John, and me, he wasn’t looking for praise, but he wanted to show our uncle that he cared, and is thought of all of the time in the hearts of us three children.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

