On The Drive Home

Upon pulling her car into my brother’s driveway, Aunt Doris said to me, “Call Avery on your cell phone, to let him know that we’re here.”

“Why do you have your window rolled down now?  It’s cold out here.  You should wait until I dial his number, talk to him and see if he’s home, first,” I said sternly, because the cold air seeped into the very core of my bones.  I had to remove my gloves so I could punch in the numbers on my phone.  I scrolled down on my contacts listing to find my brothers name and pushed send.

The phone rang five rings before my brother Avery finally answered.  “I’m in the basement.  I’ll be upstairs in just a minute so I can come outside.  He recognized my number on his caller I. D.

He came outside into his drive way without his coat on, carrying with him some containers filled with cake and brownies that he baked for us.  Upon handing them Aunt Doris, he asked if he could come with us to Walgreens for the drive up there to get my medicine.

“Go get your coat.  You’re going  to get sick without that coat on,” Aunt Doris scolded him, and then told me to move the blankets from the right side of the back passenger seat, so my brother could sit.

On the drive down to Walgreens, I opened up the conversation by telling him about our bad experience at the hospital when we went there to get Grandma Feldman’s stitches removed.  “Can you believe that?  The way that nurse talked was very unprofessional.  If she was working anyplace else, she would have lost her job for treating a customer with disrespect.  I remember someone talking disrespectfully to a customer at McDonald’s when we worked there, and that person was fired.  The rule of thumb is that the customers are supposed to be treated with respect.”

“Okay.  I understand what you’re saying, but tell me more about it once she is able to turn left when it is all clear.  That one car over there just missed hitting our car,” my brother advised as he scanned the streets so he could advise my aunt on when it is clear to go.

Once it was clear, my aunt turned left, and headed down to Walgreens.

I picked up the conversation on where I left off, telling my brother about how the nurse at the hospital had no compassion nor understanding when I told her our aunt and I were diabetic and needed to eat.  I then asked my brother, “If you were there at the time of the incident, wouldn’t you have told that nurse something for her rudeness had you asked what was keeping the doctor?”

“What the heck do you think?  Of course I would.  That kind of behavior is not acceptable,” he responded sternly; yet, calmly.  However, he was in a good mood, even though he was a little upset about how that nurse treated us at the hospital.  He wasn’t mad with our aunt, our grandmother, or me.

Upon arriving at Walgreens, Aunt Doris went inside with Avery.  She got my medicine, and purchased some cookies.  He bought something too, but I don’t remember what exactly he bought.  I think he said he bought some ice cream.

It wasn’t until after they got into my aunt’s car that I decided I needed some Triscuits or crackers to munch on, because I was feeling nauseous.

Avery went into the store with me, because I asked him if he wanted some crackers or something.  I offered to buy him whatever snack he’d like.

The Triscuits were on sale.  Folks could buy two boxes of Triscuits or Wheat Thins for $7.00.  My brother chose the Triscuits with black pepper and olive oil.  I chose the reduced fat Triscuits.

We dropped off my brother at his home, and headed on home to ours.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

