Most Of The Time, I Surpass The 500 Word Limit

Throughout these past few months, I’ve developed the habit of writing at least 500 words a day.  Most of the time when I write, I surpass the 500 word limit.  Since the first day I started the writing challenge, I’ve been dedicated throughout the process.  As I’ve mentioned several articles on back, I further developed my skills as a writer, through exploring more avenues for getting my thought process going each day.  However, lately, I’ve been operating by free thought.  That means I just let my thoughts trickle out like water.  I write whatever words and sentences pop into my head.  I don’t think about  what I’m writing.  I just write.

Just writing means letting go of insecurity and fears when it comes to making mistakes, because I realize it’s not important to be perfect.  It’s not important for the first draft of the writing to be perfect.  What is important is to get the task for writing accomplished, not matter what it is that comes through my mind and goes either onto paper or onto my computer screen.  What is important is that I’m creating something through utilizing the power and capabilities of my own mind.

Most of the time, I don’t know what a story is going to be about prior to writing it.  Even as I write it, I don’t think about where the story is going.  I write it all out through operating on instincts.  It’s important that every writer let his or her instincts guide them.  They are never wrong.  If something doesn’t feel right, it generally isn’t.  If something does feel write, then it usually is.

Through free thought, I release all the pent up energy inside of me; thus, releasing any negativity trapped there in my very core.  Writing is the best way to release negative energy, through the process of creating a drama.  That’s how most good dramatic pieces come about.  They have do to with however the writer is feeling at the time he or she is writing the given piece.

For every caliber of words coming out of my soul, pictures are painted.  That’s how imagery comes about.  I’ve acquired this and the above habits, through writing each day.  I’ve dedicated myself to the task from the beginning of the writer’s challenge, and haven’t stopped since.  I’m unstoppable.  I believe in myself more than I ever did before.  I’ve overcome the insecurity of my writing not being good enough.  I don’t worry about how the story is going to turn out or where it’s going.  I let the soul of the piece speak to my soul.  I feel my way through the process of creating the given piece.

Throughout the writing process, there is a great magnitude of love for the writing craft that I feel more and more each day.  I love what I’m doing.  That’s a big key.  A writer has to love what he or she is doing.  For one to love what one is doing means he or she will perform the given task to the highest standard and quality.  However, he or she must first get into the habit of writing every day, regardless of what it is he or she puts down on paper or types onto the computer screen.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

