Humor Has A Unique Way Of Coming Into Our Lives

Humor has a unique way of coming into our lives, whether it’s something that strikes us funny as a child from something another child does or says, or even as adults we hear some things that others say or do that puts that little spark of laughter into us.

I remember one Sunday morning back in 1993, when I was getting ready to go to church.  I chose my favorite dress and matched it with my favorite accessories.  Applying my makeup with care, and making sure every strand of my hair was where it should be, I went downstairs of my grandmother’s house to get my coat.

I asked my grandmother if she was ready to go.  Together, we proceeded out the door and headed to my car.

Upon arrival to our church, we entered into the vestibule, where we purchased some candles to light, lit them and placed them into the usual place after they were lit.  We went over to the icons that were in our church, and did our cross before each of them and kissed the icons, which is customary according to the Greek Orthodox Church.

My grandmother and I were headed into the sanctuary of our church, when this man grabs a hold of my arm, turns me around to face him, points to his own chest, and says, “I’m a Greek Christian.”

At the time, I’m thinking to myself, who is this man, and why is he telling me this.  I didn’t ask him if he was a Greek Christian or not.  I was just minding my own business. I responded to him by saying, “Oh, that’s nice.”  Starting to walk away, I stopped, turned around and told him with cheer in my heart, “I don’t know if you’re aware of this or not, but my maternal great-grandparents built this church.  I just thought you’d like to know for a historical fact about this church.”  I didn’t tell him this to be conceited, but I just wanted him to know some historical background of our church.

The man responded by saying, “Hmm,” and turned his rear to me.  I remember wondering why a grown man who looked to be in his late fifties would have the behavior and mentality of an elementary school child.

Upon witnessing him turning his rear to me and walking away, I looked at the other women who were present at the time, and shrugged my shoulders, smiling to them, in a way that indicated, I don’t know what his problem is that he had to behave like a child, but I guess it takes all kinds.

Following the church service, I headed downstairs with my grandmother and some other parishioners for coffee hour.  There was this man in his late fifties early sixties who walked over to another man, kicked up his left foot and smacked the bottom of it with his right hand, and he said, “Johnny, oh Johnny, how the heck are you?”  He then shook the other man’s hand.

I remember saying to my grandmother, “Why would he smack his foot and greet the other man like that?”

My grandmother and I both were laughing at the time, because we’d never seen anyone do that before, especially when greeting someone.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

