Don’t Do That!

Dabbling in distant days or years as to when the words I spoke as a child were made without thought, and subconscious, the mysteries of the innocent are unfounded.

I remember playing throughout the day, at the age of a year and a half, taking my favorite doll where ever I went.  Often I’d pull on her hair, by dragging her along the house, following my aunt underfoot, to observe her as she did her daily routine of cleaning.

Often, to amuse me and to keep me out of trouble, she would put me to sit down in my little rocking chair, that was purposely for little kids, turn on the television, and I’d watch  The Woody Woodpecker Show.  He was and still is my favorite cartoon character.  I was fascinated with the way he always got into mischief, and peck holes into trees with his beak.

For lunch, I had food from jars of baby food consisting of miniature precooked hotdogs, that my aunt would warm up, along with some vegetable and some fruit.

Wiping my mouth regularly, because I often got food all over face when eating alone, my aunt let me continue as I was with my eating.  I learned to eat by myself at a young age.

I always had the pleasure of listening to music while eating.  My aunt played something from her collection of records.  I developed an appreciation for music from the 50’s and 60’s.  She’d play the works of the Beatles a lot, because they were her favorite of all musicians.  My aunt favored Paul McCartney, although she adored all of the members of the Beatles.  I especially developed a liking for John Lennon.  His music has such beautiful poetry incorporated into it, although I didn’t realize this at the time.  At the time, I liked any kind of music that was soothing.

In the evening, my aunt put me to bed, because she believed that children of that age need their sleep, as they certainly do.

My uncle just returned home from work.  He often approached my crib to kiss my little hand to let me know that he arrived home.  However, that night, while I was half asleep, I said to him, “Don’t do that!”  They were the very first words I ever spoke.  I didn’t want to be bothered, because I was so tired from burning up lots of energy that day at play.

Till this very day, my uncle fondly remembers those words I spoke.  It left a special mark on his heart.

I stayed with my aunt, uncle and my grandmother back then, because my parents worked a lot of the time.  That day, my grandmother, was at work, helping my parents out at our party store that we owned in Otsego, Michigan.  I spent much of the time at home with my aunt during the day.

It’s amazing the way the things we say as children leaves such an impact on those who raised us and nurtured us.

© Copyright, Kiki Stamatiou, 2015

Leave a Reply

